

FACULTY OF AGRICULTURAL, LIFE AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES ENVIRONMENTAL, HEALTH AND SAFETY COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

1.0 Introduction

The Faculty of ALES Health and Safety Committee is a major component in the governance and oversight of the safety related matters, to meet obligations for Occupation Health and Safety set out by the University of Alberta Policy, consistent with applicable federal and provincial legislation. The committee is intended to identify and review health and safety issues, suggest prudent practices for the research (labs, field and clinical), teaching, and administrative activities; and respond to safety related concerns from different units.

2.0 Requirement

Committee members must complete the

• U of A EHS Supervisory Professional Development online course

3.0 Committee Membership

The membership of the Safety Committee shall consist of:

- Co-Chairs, Labs and Genomics Unit Manager and Research Station Manager
- ALES Facility, Safety and Operation, Team lead
- ALES Research and Strategic Initiative, Team lead
- Representative from the Student Services Office (1)
- Full-time faculty members of the Faculty of ALES, one from each department, appointed by the Department chair (4)
- Graduate student representative (2)
- Support staff from the core facilities (worker representative), two from the labs, two from the research stations, one from the Human Nutrition Research Unit, appointed by the Labs and Genomics Unit Manager, Research Station Manager and ALES Facility, Safety and Operation team lead (5)
- Administrative staff from the Faculty (1)
- Faculty members and graduate students will be appointed on a 1-2-year term. Staff will be appointed for a 2-year term. Members may be considered for re-appointment.



- No more than fifty percent of the Committee members will change in any calendar year.
- If unable to attend, members are encouraged to send a designate to attend on their behalf. Designates will not have voting privileges.
- If a committee member is absent from 3 meetings in a row without reasonable justification, they may be asked to step down and a new representative will be appointed to take their place.
 - Ex-officio/non-voting members
 - Representative from the Department of Environment, Health and Safety to act as an expert resource to the committee. The member appointed should have experience with field research activities.

4.0 Guests

- Are permitted at the discretion of the chair.
- Will not have voting privileges.

5.0 Committee Responsibilities

- Lead the implementation of the U of A Environment, Health and Safety Management System (EHSMS) and promote established institutional safety policies, procedures, best practices, and regulations within the Faculty.
- Recommend health and safety policies to ALES Faculty Council regarding research, teaching, and administrative activities in the Faculty.
- Encourage participation in environment, health and safety initiatives and safety training programs.
- Provide oversight and support to the facilities and recommend and endorse safety policies, including general, chemical, biosafety and clinical aspects, procedures and initiatives within laboratories and research stations.
- Recommend and endorse safety practices for field research.
- Review laboratory inspection trends to monitor compliance to help ensure standards to operate safely are upheld in adherence to regulations and legislation, and make recommendations.
- Communicate health and safety related information to the academics and unit managers who will distribute the information to all employees.
- Review concerns and respond to safety related inquiries from different units.
- Review the 'Terms of Reference' annually by June 30.



6.0 Meeting Framework

Chair

- Schedule and chair meetings.
- The two Co-Chairpersons will alternate chairing the meetings.
- Develop meeting agendas.
- Appoint committee members as necessary.

Frequency

ALES Committee meetings will be scheduled at least once in three months, at a predetermined time and location.

Quorum

A quorum for the committee meetings will consist of 50 percent of voting members plus one.

Agenda Items

The Chair will prepare a copy of the agenda for each meeting and distribute it to all members 3 days prior to the meeting.

Minutes

- Prepared by the committee secretary.
- Distributed 3 days prior to the committee meeting.
- Meeting minutes will be retained within the faculty/portfolio.



Committee Members

Urmila Basu, Labs and Genomics Unit Manager, Co-Chair Jay Willis, Research Stations Manager, Co-Chair Francois Paradis, Facilities, Safety and Operations, Team Lead Sarah Gooding, Research and Strategic Initiative, Team lead Jim Bohun, Student Services Office, 1-year term Thava Vasanthan, AFNS Academic, 2-year term Scott Chang, RenR Academic, 1-year term Brenda Parlee, REES Academic, 1-year term Jane Batcheller, HE Academic, 2-year term Kelvin Lien, support staff representative (Ag/For), 2-year term Brett Feland, support staff representative (SAB), 2-year term Ross Lowe, support staff representative (AFDP), 2-year term Dick Puurveen, support staff representative (Breton Plots), 2-year term Stephanie Ramage, support staff representative (HNRU), 2-year term Ehsan Feizollahi, Graduate student representative, 1-year term Yuliya Barsukova, Graduate student representative, 1-year term Rehana Bennett, Administrative staff from the Faculty Office Kim Schaerer, Environmental, Health and Safety Office