Faculty Council

ALES Faculty Council Membership

Dean (as Chair) Stanford Blade
President Bill Flanagan
Faculty Members All

Additional Members - External Representatives

Faculty of Arts Li Zhou 2019-2022
Faculty of Education Mike Carbonaro 2021-2024
Faculty of Engineering Jinfeng Liu 2020-2023
Faculty of Extension
Faculty of Science Olav Rueppell 2021-2024
Health Sciences

  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Daniel Aalto
(Rehabilitation Medicine)
School of Business Jack Stechter 2019-2022
Alberta Association of Forest Management Professionals Carla Rhyant 2021-?
Alberta Human Ecology & Home Economics Association Margurite Thiessen Ongoing
Alberta Institute of Agrologists David Lloyd Ongoing
Alberta Registered Dieticians' Association Doug Cook Ongoing
Alberta Society of Professional Biologists

*All term lengths for the representatives above are from July 1 - June 30 unless otherwise noted


Non-Academic Staff Representatives

Undergraduate Student Services Stephanie Dickie 2019-2021

*All term lengths for the representatives above are from July 1 - June 30

Student Representatives

2 ALES Graduate Student Association (GSA) Members
2 Faculty of ALES Undergraduate Association (FAUnA)  Members



Faculty Council Meeting Dates


  • February 4 - 3:00pm via ZOOM
  • October 1 -  12:00pm - 1:30pm
  • December 9 - 9:00am - 10:20am


  • February 2 - 3:00pm - 4:30pm
  • April 12 - 1:00pm - 2:30pm


Faculty Council - Terms of Reference

ALES Representatives to Other Faculties

Faculty of Arts Kevin Jones 2020-2022
Faculty of Education Burim Ametaj 2020-2022
Faculty of Engineering John Wolodo 2020-2022
Faculty of Native Studies Heather Bruce 2020-2022
Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation Donna Vine 2021-2023
Faculty of Science Aman Ullah 2020-2022
Campus Saint Jean Patricia Dolez 2020-2022

*All term lengths for the above are from July 1 - June 30